Devotion to the Infant Jesus of Prague

1. Carmelite Infant Jesus

Above, the Infant of Prague statue dressed in a Carmelite friar habit.

In 1628, the Carmelite friars in Prague received a gift of a beautiful statue of the infant Jesus from a devout noblewoman, a Princess Polixena. They placed the statue in their Church in order to venerate the infant Jesus of Prague, their veneration then being the source of numerous and miraculous favors.

In 1631, when enemies of the Church sacked Prague, they mocked the Holy Infant and threw the statue into a heap of trash in an obscure place. Some years later, Ven. Father Cyril of the Mother of God, a Carmeiite of the Prague monastery, found the statue. One day, while praying before the holy image, Father Cyril heard the consoling words, “Have pity on Me and I will have pity on you; restore My hands and I will give you peace; the more you honor Me, the more I will bless you.”

So many graces, blessings, and miraculous cures came to those who embraced this devotion that it spread throughout the Catholic world and continues to be a source of much grace to this day.

Prayer to The Infant Jesus

by Ven. Father Cyril, O.C.D.

Infant Jesus,
unto You With a humble trust I pray.

Through Your mother’s sinless heart,
Help me in my need today.

I believe that You are God,
With a power that is divine.
Full of confidence I ask
That You grant this prayer of mine.

Firm my purpose to amend,
I resolve to grieve no more
That most loving heart of Yours
Out of which all mercies pour.

My whole life I give to You,
I will serve You , Infant King,
Suffer for You patiently,
Do Your will in everything.

Little Jesus, for Your sake
I will love my neighbor, too.
I will seek the other’s good
Through the love I bear for You.
Save me through Your mother’s prayers,
And St. Joseph’s, grant me then
With the heavenly choirs to sing
Endless praise to You. Amen!

Source: “The Little Book of Carmelite Spirituality and Practice”

CHAPLET OF THE INFANT JESUS
Jesus Himself revealed this devotion to the Ven. Margaret of the Blessed Sacrament, Dicalced Carmelite nun, who dies at Beaune, France in the year 1648.  Jesus exhorted her to make it known among the faithful and promised most special graces, especially innocence and purity, to those who would carry the chaplet in their person and recite it with the intention to honor the Mysteries of the Divine Infancy.

METHOD OF RECITING THE CHAPLET
O God, come to my aid,
O Lord, make haste to help me.
Glory Be..
Holy Infant Jesus, bless me.

On the first three beads:
And the Word was made Flesh…. Our Father

Then say:
And the Word was made Flesh and dwelt among us.

The “Hail Mary” is recited on each of the other 12 beads in honor of the 12 years of Our Lord’s childhood.

Glory be… is said in the end.


POWERFUL NOVENA PRAYER TO THE INFANT JESUS

O Jesus, who has said, “Ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find, knock and it shall be opened to you,” through the intercession of Mary, Your Most Holy Mother, I seek, I knock, I ask that my prayer be granted.  O Jesus, who has said: “All that you ask of the Father in My Name He will grant you,” through the intercession of Mary, Your Most Holy Mother, I humbly and urgently ask Your Father in Your Name that my prayer be granted.  O Jesus, who has said: “Heaven and earth will pass away but My word will not pass away,” through the intercession of Mary, your Most Holy Mother, I feel confident that my prayer will be granted.” Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

