Wisdom of St. Therese

St. Therese holding Infant Jesus

“The Blessed Virgin kept all these things in her heart.  They cannot blame me for doing the same.”

“I am only a child, powerless and weak, and yet it is my weakness that gives me the boldness of offering myself as victim of your love, O Jesus! In times past, victims, pure and spotless, were the only ones accepted by the Strong and Powerful God.  To satisfy Divine Justice, perfect victims were necessary, but the law of Love ha succeeded to the law of fear, and Love has chosen me as a holocaust, me, a weak and imperfect creature.  Is not this choice worthy of Love? Yes, in order that Love be fully satisfied, it is necessary that it lower itself, and that it lower itself to nothingness and transform this nothingness into fire.”

“I understood that if the Church had a body composed of different members, the most necessary and most noble of all could not be lacking to it, and so I understood that the Church had a Heart and that His hert was burning with love.  I understood it was love alone that made the Church’s members act.. I understood that love comprised all vocations, that love was everything, that it embraced all times and all places- in a word, that it was eternal!  My vocation is Love.”

“The greatest honor God can grant a soul is not to give much to it, but to ask much of it.”

“I was puzzled at seeing how Our Lord was pleased to caress certain ones from cradle to the grave.. Jesus deigned to teach me this mystery.   He set before me the book f nature; I understood how all the flowers he has created are beautiful,.. and so it is in the world of souls, Jesus’ garden.  Just as the sun shines simultaneously on the tall cedars and on each little flower, so Our Lord is occupied particularly with each soul”

“I realize that what pleases God is to see my littleness and my poverty, the blind hope I have in His mercy.  That is my sole treasure.. why should not this treasure be yours?  Understand that to love Jesus, to be His victim of love, the weaker one is, without desires or virtues, the more apt one is for the operations of that consuming and transforming love.  Ah, let us love our littleness, love to feel nothing, then we shall be poor in spirit, and Jesus will come for us.  He will transform us in love’s flames… it is trust, and nothing but trust, that must bring us to Love… Fear bring us only to justice.”

To a Novice who spoke of her desire for more strength and energy with which “to practice virtue”, Therese countered, “And suppose God wishes to have you as feeble and powerless as a child? Do you think that would be less worthy in God’s eyes? Consent to stumble, or even to fall at every step, to bear your cross feebly; love your weakness. Your soul will draw more profit from that than if, sustained by grace, you vigorously performed heroic deeds which would fill your soul with self-satisfaction and pride.” (Story of A Soul, Manuscript C: 239-244)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

