I LOVE the Latin Mass! “Why Latin?”

I am teaching myself Liturgical Latin – as this IS different from regular Latin – so I and you do not have to go to a Latin Mass (or listen to EWTN’s mass on TV) and not understand it.  Teach yourself!  I am using this book as a main source to teach myself liturgical Latin: from Lulu.com “Liturgical Latin: Church Latin and Your Missal”.  Even if you just want to learn how to pronounce, read and understand prayers like the Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory Be, etc.

Have you ever been asked why Traditional Catholics like to have Mass celebrated in a language which no one can understand? I have had it asked of me and heard it asked of others. This is a great answer to why we prefer to have Mass celebrated in the Latin language.

The video is taken from the consecration of the church of Saints Peter and Paul at the Fraternity of St. Peter seminary in Lincoln, Nebraska.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

